Adventure Time

10 Jul

5 Items and the middle of the Pacific Ocean

So here’s whats happening I am flying from here (UK, Heathrow) to LAX, Los Angeles. Which is a 13 hour flight, good times! (Y)

Then from LAX, I will fly to Tahiti. For everyone this is a island in the middle of the pacific ocean, near enough! And at Tahiti my mission is to get a bone hook necklace!

And from there hop on a light aircraft, which could be a water boat over to the Canton Island, which is situated roughly halfway between Hawaii and Fiji. The island has less than 50 inhabitants.

So thats all the flying all done! next part is hotel! well kinda……. from the island I will then get on this catamaran (boat) and for 6 days live in the middle of the pacific ocean, without any communication methods, mobile, internet and facebook! (not that I care about the last one!) The boat is call Mothership Bonefish, it can have up to 16 guests staying on it at a time, 82ft catamaran, BBQ on board!

And Why?

I am doing this because my dad has asked me to be his photographer and to film the trip. There are 8 people also going on this trip, so for me I see a business opportunity 🙂 Mwhahaha.

My dad is a keen fisherman and this isn’t just fishing off a boat, in fact it isn’t fishing off a boat at all. We will be in the ocean fishing.

How you might think, given that we are in the middle of the Pacific Ocean…… There are things called Atolls, there are a few pictures of what they look like in the gallery. A atoll is an island of coral that encircles a lagoon partially or completely. And just for those who don’t know what a lagoon is, it is a body of shallow sea water separated from the sea by some form of barrier.      These atolls are nearly inaccessible and I will be one in 100 people in this world that has had the chance to do this.

Then after the 6 days starts the long travel back to the UK, Home home and Farnham (Home.) Although I am trying to stop off in LA for a few more days so I can go to LA Ink and try and get Kat Von D to tattoo me.

There is a risk in this type of trip and fishing, in that if the ocean changes it could easily take us out further. As my dad nearly found out last time he went, it was a close call, so the songs started and the last drinks! luckily nothing bad happened.

So yeah Im am only allowed limited stuff, 5 main items……. what should they be? what would you take?

Camera, Video Camera, Mac!, …………., …………..

Let me know what you think I should take, or tell me what you’d take.

Oh yeah, there is also a chance I could come back as red as a lobster cooked twice. And Im quitting work after 4 weeks of working there! Looks like its straight back to Farnham to job hunt!

9 Responses to “Adventure Time”

  1. Ruth July 10, 2010 at 23:53 #

    Danny wow!! I’m so jealous, that sounds like it’s going to be amaaazing!
    My dad has just got home from 2 years contracted work on an Atoll island in the middle of the Indian Ocean called Diego Garcia!- unfortunately it was military land so I was never able to go and visit!
    But I hope you have a wkd time and I can’t wait to see the amazing pictures!

    • dannypallett July 10, 2010 at 23:58 #

      Thats wicked, Im well looking forward to it.
      I think a lot of the photos will be blue!

      Whats your dad been doing on the atoll?

  2. Ruth July 11, 2010 at 00:09 #

    He was an Engineer at the military base- don’t really know much else about it! lol 🙂 x

    • dannypallett July 11, 2010 at 00:10 #

      Cool, fair enough.

      Im going to eat a ridiculous amount of sea food on this trip!

  3. Bjorn July 23, 2010 at 05:13 #

    Hey there, saw your post as I was doing a search about bonefish for my bonefish blog. I’m really curious on that trip. Does the outfitter have a website?

    • dannypallett July 23, 2010 at 14:49 #

      Hi there, I don’t think I have the right web pages, I have PDF files, but here are a few links to the same type of thing.

      http://www.flyodyssey.co.uk/

      http://www.tahitiflyfish.com/edito_eng.htm

      I can give you contact details on the PDFs I have about it? I have contact info for USA/UK/Other…… let me know
      Where have you been bone fishing?
      Hope this helps

      • Bjorn July 23, 2010 at 14:55 #

        Thanks! I’d love the contact info.

        I’ve only been bonefishing a few times, once in Hawaii, twice in Grand Bahama. I’m pretty much addicted though. Amazing fish and they live in beautiful places.

        The “cruise the ocean from atoll to atoll” sounds amazing.

      • dannypallett July 23, 2010 at 15:27 #

        USA: jerrys@kman.com
        UK: m.mchugh@flyodyssey.co.uk
        OTHER: jrbonefish@actrix.co.nz

        hope it helps.

        I’ve never been bone fishing, Im looking forward to it though. Deffo looks like a nice place, especially since its the other side of the world!

  4. Bjorn July 23, 2010 at 15:30 #

    It is fantastic stuff and a bonefish will test your knots pretty well. Such a strong fish.

    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

